My First Birchbox! | January 2014

Welcome to Birchbox

Since joining Twitter, I have been following Birchbox and saw that one of the brands that would feature in their January edition would be Benefit! With also finding a code that meant free P&P (New14) I decided to get this months box.

As you many already know, Birchbox is a monthly beauty subscription service costing £10 with £2.95 p&p. There intro states:

Join Birchbox and you’ll receive a selection of beauty and lifestyle products to try every month, so you can find the products that really fit your needs.

Each month you’ll receive 5 luxe samples, carefully selected and tailored to your beauty profile.

Test them out in the comfort of your own home, read our exclusive features online and then find the full-size products you love in the Birchbox e-shop.

Birchbox is a surprise box (meaning you don’t get to pick your items) I’ve decided to go for a rolling monthly subscription for the time being and see how it goes. This is what I got from my very first box:

Birchbox Contents | January 2014

The theme this month is ‘Tiny Tweaks’ which is all set around it being the New Year and making small tweaks to your life that is more realistic instead of the big elaborate resolutions people tend to make. The booklet provides some ideas, I picked one ‘start a Sunday ritual’ and have used this time to paint my nails for the working week.

Philip Kingsley Elasticizer, 20ml

A hair saviour. This mask strengthens, nourishes and prevents breakages.

I am so happy to get hold of a Philip Kingsley product! I’ve heard great things about this brand and look forward to giving this pre-shampoo treatment a try.

Benefit The POREfessional, 7.5ml

An award-winning primer that magically erases pores and leaves skin velvety.

This was this months star product and featured in all subscribers boxes. I already have The POREfessional and use it under my Benefit Brightening Foundation and absolutely love it! So happy to have another one in my stash. It makes for a perfect make up base and helps keep shine at bay.

Laura Mercier Body Butter Ambre Vanille, 25g

Packed with nourishing shea butter, jojoba, grape seed oil and protecting aloe vera gel for silky, scented limbs.

My eyes widened when I saw this body product from Laura Mercier as I have not had anything from this brand before but have heard so much about it. The smell is gorgeous and that fact it contains shea butter I know will be moisturising and perfect to use during this cold period. Super happy to have this!

Premae Anatomy Nutrients Instant Renewal Body Oil, 20ml

Moisturise, tone and detoxify skin with this natural, allergy-tested body oil.

Unfortunately this leaked in my box but luckily as the box contained tissue paper it absorbed the oil and there was plenty still left to try. I love body oils and look forward to giving this a go.

Delarom Acquaconfort Mask, 15ml

A smooth hydrating mask to nourish skin and restore suppleness and vitality.

I’ve not heard of the brand but always good to have a mask and look forward to trying this out.

Birchbox Eye Mask, £10

This gel-filled mask cools the eye area and decreases puffiness.

This is a great lifestyle product that you pop into your fridge overnight to use first thing in the morning. It’s likely I will use this in the evening to sooth my tired eyes after a long day at the office.

Birchbox Products | January 2014

Overall, I am well impressed with my very first box. I just love the little surprises and I know I will use every item. I cannot wait to see what Birchbox has install for us in next months box!

It is also Birchbox first anniversary on 10th January, Happy Birthday to Birchbox!

Have you subscribed to Birchbox? What has been your favourite product from your box?

Love iblushbeauty -x-

One response to “My First Birchbox! | January 2014

  1. Pingback: Empties | March 2014 | iblushbeauty·

Leave a Reply

