YOU Beauty Discovery Review | October 2013

Hello all,

I had this box waiting for me when I returned back from holiday. I thought I’d do the right thing by first opening up my post, seeing all the bills and leave the beauty box till the next day once I rested. That lasted all of 2 minutes before I ripped open the packaging to get to the box! I’m a typical Libra and believe in ‘balance’ and after all I needed something to cheer me up after seeing my credit card bill! ;-(

YOU Beauty Discovery Box October 2013

Firstly, I would like to say I did not like how the items were presented in this months box, it looked like the contents was just thrown in! In saying that the box is delivered by courier and may well have been rattling around in the back of the van and items got dislodged but any way I thought I’d get it off my chest. The theme for this month is Handbag Heroes.

So lovelies here is what I got in this months YOU Beauty Discovery box:

YOU Beauty Discovery items October 2013

Noble Isle Willow Song Lavenham Walk Bath & Shower Gel, 75ml

Now this item was a pleasant surprise, when I picked it the description just mentioned  ‘Willow Bark’ and ‘Water Lily’ now I don’t know about you but I have no clue as to what willow bark or water-lily smells like and therefore, I didn’t have any high expectations of this shower gel.  However, as soon as I smelt it I just wanted to run into the bathroom and have a bath, it was that gorgeous! I would even go as far as to say it’s even better than Molton Brown (now that’s saying something)! It has a unique scent that reminded me of J’adore by Christian Dior but even then it’s not an accurate description, it’s just lovely! I’ve used it over the weekend before a night out and a little goes a long way as it lathered up well and left a sweet fragrance that lasted all evening and the scent still lingered when I crawled into bed that night.

This would definitely be a repeat purchase for me. I’ve checked its website and it comes beautifully packaged which will be perfect for Christmas (will add to my wish list) or may wait for the January Sales.

Crabtree & Evelyn Gardeners Hand Therapy, 25g

This hand cream is a rich with shea butter and macadamia nut oil.  As you know I am a huge fan of L’Occitane hand cream but thought I’d try this brand as I’ve heard of them but not tried its products before.  After doing some housework I tested it out and felt it wouldn’t be suited for work as it does leave a bit of a residue (not good for the keyboard). It left my hands super moisturised even after me washing my hands a couple of times after application.  This really is a rich hand cream and perfect if you have a manual job and your hands a super dry or if you’ve done work around the home or just in need of a cream that’s a bit more moisturising.

Bonus items were:

Nakd Bar (berry delight)

You had a choice of either the cocoa orange or berry delight flavours. I did see this selling during a work trip to Brighton at this organic fair trade café during lunch. This cost 75p but have also seen it selling in a pack of 4 in Waitrose.

I did take this to work with me and scoffed it down before the day was out. So much for my post holiday resolution of not snacking during the afternoon, but needs must. I will repurchase if I stumbled across it during my weekly grocery shop, especially if being sold on special offer.

YBD Pocket Mirror

This little mirror looked really cute and perfect for your handbag or taken on a night out. I normally like a cover with my mirrors but hey it’s a bonus item so not complaining. Although it did remind me of those old school badges, but without the pin.  Remember the old badge making machines they had a school with the prickly pin that always caught you not matter what?  No doubt would not pass the health and safety standards of today!

All in all it was an ok box, for me the best item was the Noble Isle shower gel which I look forward to continue using.

What items did you pick for this month box? Are you happy with your products?

Feel free to leave your comments below.

Love iblushbeauty -x-

You can get YOU Beauty Discovery box for £6.95 click here for details.

Leave a Reply

